Back to shopping

Reviews for Sapele Ribbon Stripe (Quarter Sawn) 4/4 Lumber

Currently only viewing 5 star reviews. View All Ratings
38 Reviews
97.4%
Overall
5
October 10th, 2021
Verified Buyer
CUB
ME
Sapele Ribbon Stripe (Quarter Sawn) 4/4 Lumber
The boards are nice , I build jewelry boxes.
5
June 18th, 2021
Verified Buyer
Robert
WV
Beautiful Ribbon quarter sawn sapele
Some of the most beautiful wood I have ever purchased. Clean and true and arrived packaged very securely and undamaged. I highly recommend buying this product from this seller.
5
June 7th, 2021
Verified Buyer
Robert
WV
Beautiful Ribbon quarter sawn sapele
This is some of the most beautiful ribbon sapele I have ever purchased. Gorgous grain and full rich color. The wood came straight and square with no cracks or blemishes of any kind. My order arrived undamaged and on time. Packaging was safe and secure. I highly recommend purchasing from this company as I will have them at the top of my list of suppliers.
5
May 2nd, 2021
Verified Buyer
Kyle
CA
Beautiful
I really can't tell you how wonderful this was. It finished into something beautiful rather easily. There's a real special quality about this wood when finished. The wood I received was in excellent shape for milling, flat on top with one good straight edge. Minimal imperfections.
5
March 5th, 2021
Rhonda
Louisiana
Beautiful and exactly what I asked for!
I needed a specific width and length and omg, what was chosen for me was absolutely perfect. I've ordered often from Woodworkers Source and they send an email to follow on every order to ensure satisfaction. Excellent customer service and beautiful lumber.
5
March 4th, 2021
Verified Buyer
Jerry Phillips
Clermont FL
Hobbyist Woodworker
First time buyer
As the title indicates, this was the first time I have purchased milled lumber period, and first time purchasing lumber online. I was not sure what I expected when I placed my order. When it arrived I first felt overwhelmed trying to understand how to cut all my required pieces from the lumber supplied. It took many hours using graft paper drawing all individual pieces of lumber and figuring out how to cut all the pieces from the lumber. Then I took time to double check it twice. Yes, measure twice, cut once. It worked. I finally was able to cut all the required pieces properly. I am now in the process of gluing, trimming, and screwing. So far it looks great. I have sanded each piece ahead of assembling. I plan to finish it with Tongue Oil and Poly. Will send picture when completed. So far I am very happy with the progress. Sapele Ribbon - looks great, I love it. Great choice. Thanks, Jerry Phillips
Familiarity: I've used it once or twice
5
February 3rd, 2021
Verified Buyer
Terence
CO
Oh my goodness
The selection and color of Sapele that I purchased and was sent is soooooo beautiful. I am officially 'SPOILT'. How am I supposed to work with the other woods now? Oh.... I also got Walnut from these guys too. And this month's special is Birch Plywood?? Hmm.... What do I want to make with that?
5
November 18th, 2020
Verified Buyer
Dave B
Sierra Vista AZ
Enthusiast Woodworker
Couldn't have picked it better myself
I ordered this Sapele to complete the wood I needed to build a new desk for the wife and myself. What I received was damn near perfect. The wood was straight, very few, if any knots, and had loads of character. To whomever picked out this wood for my order, I say THANK YOU!
Familiarity: I've used it in several projects
5
November 11th, 2020
Verified Buyer
Rikki
Las Vegas
Oh. My. Goodness.
These planks are amazing! It took a leap of faith to let someone else select the wood planks that will become the centerpiece of my living room. The fireplace mantle is going to be absolutely gorgeous. #1 the wood is beautiful and #2 the pros that selected the pieces were spot on with their selection. I can't tell you enough how amazing my experiences with online ordering from this company have been.
5
June 10th, 2020
Verified Buyer
Jim
California
Great looking wood
This was a small order for some drawer fronts. I got a single board with no defects and attractive grain.
5
January 9th, 2020
Verified Buyer
Motoyogi
TN
Semi-Professional Woodworker
Beautiful Wood
This was my first time working with Sapele. It's pretty dense, so a little challenging to work with, not difficult, just needs a bit more finesse and patience. But whatever effort is well worth the beauty of the wood. A few coats of tung oil and it glistens and has a lustre and depth that is just stunning to behold.
Familiarity: I've used it once or twice
5
November 30th, 2019
Verified Buyer
Harry
NY
Great wood, great services.
Quick shipping, fair price, quality product, and exotic wood make for a bad combination for me. I will certainly be ordering again. Sapele had some minor dings and dents along the edges but nothing that wasn't expected. Sanded and finished beautifully and will be a very nice door to my entertainment center.
5
December 12th, 2018
Verified Buyer
Al
Canton Michigan
Enthusiast Woodworker
Fantastic Service
Recently Sapele was on sale and I plan to make a gun cleaning tool box with it after the holidays. Ordering wood online sight unseen is a bit scary but not with Woodworkers Source. I needed a specific size and Woodworkers exceeded my expectations. The boards were perfect for my project. I will definitely buy from them again.
Familiarity: I've used it once or twice
5
November 9th, 2018
Verified Buyer
Wyowoodsmith
Hulett Wyoming
Sapele Ribbon Stripe 4/4 Lumber
I have worked with this very nice species before , Sapele w/ the Ribbon Stripe is easy to work with if my tooling is sharp, when grain filled and finished it has an "Iridescent" glow in the stripes, this order of 6 boards was perfect in every aspect, just what I ordered (I do wish the length was allowed to be 8') but I'll have a nice display cabinet when I finish, the lumber was very flat, the grain was nicely patterned with the striping tight, not a single unuseable square inch- As always , my Sincere Thanks to all at WWS who keep the High Quality lumber coming my way
5
November 5th, 2018
Verified Buyer
n/a
Henderson NV.
Joe Centobene
Sapele came in great shape, material was square and flat. Looks good.
5
October 11th, 2018
Verified Buyer
Sawduster
Bluff Dale
Beautiful wood!
Ordered just 3 BF - it arrived so well packaged it'd have to be in a shipwreck to have been damaged. Boards are in excellent condition, wondrous stripes through the figure. Should be a treat to make something from this.
5
May 24th, 2017
Verified Buyer
Al
Canton Michigan
Enthusiast Woodworker
Sapele - Outstanding
My first project using Sapele. I plan to make a table for our deck. Recovering from surgery right now, project is on hold.
Familiarity: I haven't used it yet
5
October 11th, 2016
Verified Buyer
Bearded Wood Charmer
Missouri
9 ft of sapele
ordered 9 ft of sapele, stipulated that stock had to be minimum 66 inches long. Received 2 boards each 67 inches by a full 12 inches. Well matched for color and grain, beautiful stock. One board did have a split about mid way on the jointed edge, about 4 inches long, did not compromise the table top. Curiously, I did not receive a notice that order had shipped until after it had arrived. Great product, great service.
5
October 11th, 2016
Verified Buyer
Joe
Mimbres NM
New Woodworker
Sapele
BEAUTIFUL! But, why doesn't the rosewood club count on online orders?
Familiarity: I've used it once or twice
5
October 4th, 2016
Verified Buyer
B1 Guy
South Dakota
Great product!
I placed an order for 60 bd ft of sapele to replace the wood bed of my 69' Chevy C10. It arrived well packaged with only minor damage (I blame UPS). It is beautiful wood, great color and dense. I had it cut and sanded with no problems. The only discrepancy I had was that all my boards were supposed to have one factory edge cut and that was not the case, but in the grand scheme of things and for my needs it mattered little. I would highly recommend these guys, their service and product is great. I will try to post pictures of my truck bed when it's done.
5
August 9th, 2016
Verified Buyer
Robert
Ohio
Sapele Ribbon Stripe
Very good wood .It will make fine guitar necks.Thanks
5
February 4th, 2014
David Fey
Big Bear Lake CA USA
Enthusiast Woodworker
Excellent Quality
Wood arrived in perfect condition and was of excellent quality. This material had zero defects and will be excellent for boxes and accents on furniture projects.
Familiarity: I've used it in several projects
5
February 4th, 2014
Shawn Jackson
Ozark mo usa
Great product
The board I got was beautiful & exactly as advertised.
5
April 30th, 2013
Fred
Tigard Oregon United States
Semi-Professional Woodworker
Ribbon-Stripe Sapele
I recently purchased 300 bf of ribbon stripe sapele. The wood was exceptionally well packaged and there was no damage in shipment. I am very pleased with the selection of lumber in this shipment. The 107 good-looking wood pickers did an outstanding job of selection. I will definitely purchase wood from Woodworkers Source again.
Familiarity: I haven't used it yet
5
March 18th, 2013
Brent
St. Louis Mo Usa
Semi-Professional Woodworker
Sapele 4/4 lumber
Product was great- sizes and quality were perfect. I will buy again.
Familiarity: I've used it in several projects
5
November 15th, 2012
RASmith Custom Fly Rods
n/a
Hobbyist Woodworker
wood
You did well, online buying can be interesting.
Familiarity: I've used it in a LOT of projects
5
November 15th, 2012
JoeMac
MA USA
Nice stuff
Perfect sections. The boards almost look like they came from a flitch in sequence. Great color. Great deal.
5
November 13th, 2012
ESM
Oro Valley AZ USA
Beautiful Wood
I bought a quantity of this fine wood to make a headboard for a king sized bed in our guestroom. I am very pleased with the results. The coloration is uniform and the wood machines well. Three coats of gelled varnish, and it looks spectacular.
5
November 6th, 2012
Rose
New Orleans LA USA
Enthusiast Woodworker
My first order and it's a success
I really like the Sapele ribbon stripe. Came in two widths, around 9" and 11" with the boards pretty well flawless. Using the wood to make cutting boards as Christmas presents. Pretty easy to work with and comes up beautifully with a single application of butcher block oil.
Familiarity: I've used it in a LOT of projects
5
July 17th, 2012
Christy
Houston TX USA
Sapele
Very nice grain, going to be beautiful in the night stands that I am building
5
March 30th, 2012
Mike Roob
Oak Harbor Ohio USA
New Woodworker
Great Deal
First time I have ordered lumber on line. I was a little worried of the quality I would get. I was very surprized and pleased with the spped of delievery and the looks of the wood. I will be ordering again. Great job.
Familiarity: I haven't used it yet
5
December 14th, 2010
bj
Golden Valley AZ USA
Semi-Professional Woodworker
Sapele
Wood is beautiful and again I think that your custmer service is exceptional along with the speed in which I recieved my product.
5
March 25th, 2010
Steve
Phoenix AZ USA
Loved it
Bought some at the store on the 17 and Bell coupla weeks ago. Holy crap I didn't even need to pick through the stack the boards were so freakin awesome. Good fig and really clear. Might get some 8-4 this weekend too.
5
March 20th, 2009
Grant Ament
Chandler AZ US
Hobbyist Woodworker
Awesome stuff
A few months back I bought some of this wood at the Tempe store and they let me pick through this stack that was as high as my chest. I nabbed a bunch of boards. Stuff was beautiful. It saws okay but likes to move a little bit. But man its pretty stuff.
Familiarity: I've used it in several projects