Back to shopping

Reviews for Classic Cutting Board Kit - Walnut, Mahogany & Maple

Currently viewing all reviews.
5
December 9th, 2020
Verified Buyer
2hokies
Virginia
Great first experience
This was my first time using Woodworkers Source and it was a great experience. I'm still pretty new to woodworking and, heretofore, most of my wood was purchased from big box stores. So, when I open a box of wood where all of the boards are not warped and have a good edge to cut on, it was amazing! Everything included was as promised, the boards were clean and straight, and there was enough to craft 2 or 3 cutting boards. Plus, the commentary at the bottom of the shipping notice was hilarious! I've saved that and shared with many others! I will definitely be a repeat customer!
Familiarity: I haven't used it yet
4
December 4th, 2020
Verified Buyer
Ed
Severn Maryland
butcher black
the wood was just ok some were cup and a few had bug wholes that right in the size that I was planning to use...lol that's just bad luck, but the first order I received some months ago was outstanding .
5
November 25th, 2020
Verified Buyer
Chris
NM
Cutting board kit
The wood is beautiful. I will be purchasing for you again in the future
5
November 16th, 2020
Verified Buyer
Terence
Williston Park NY
Excellent Kit
Fantastic kit! Made a 12x16 board and with the the leftovers made a pair of small serving boards as well. Wood were excellent choices with great edges, making this a breeze to rip and glue up.
5
October 3rd, 2020
Verified Buyer
Travis and
California
Lovely selection of wood leaving the creativity to me.
I've only made a few boards and nothing from a kit. This purchase brought some color coordinated woods together for me to work with. Perfect! That said, I may make the one they use in their site. It look really good!
4
October 2nd, 2020
Dallas
Centreville VA
Some assembly required
I ordered a cutting board and all I got was a box of wood and some glue. Talk about 'some assembly required.' :) The wood arrived well packaged and in good condition. I also ordered the glue and mineral spirits since it was cheaper than buying the same locally. There was plenty of wood--more than I was expecting--which allowed me to make one cutting board and two small (what I'm calling) cheese boards. Why the 4 starts instead of 5? One board had a huge snipe problem. It was very noticeable and was unusable as is and should not have been included in a cutting board kit. I had to drive to a friend's shop and borrow his planer to fix it. Even still, it was a great kit.
4
August 6th, 2020
Verified Buyer
Z
AL
New Woodworker
Nice wood
Boards arrived in good shape. One of them had a small dent, in a shape as if it was hit against the corner of something, I assumed this happened in the shipping process. That was not a big deal. The only reason I did not give five stars is that the oil had come loose and leaked out on to a few of the boards and soaked one corner of the cardboard a bit. It was not a significant amount of oil, not enough to ask for a return and wait on a new package, but enough to be an annoyance and wish that it didn't happen. This was a perfect amount of wood to make a decent size cutting board but I am going to order more wood to make a bigger one and a few as gifts.
Familiarity: I've used it once or twice
5
May 5th, 2020
Verified Buyer
Doc
Belgrade Maine
First time cutting board attempt
This was a nice experience as I was a little hesitant that the wood would separate or the combination of colors would not look appealing. I was pleasantly surprised at the outcome. It turned out to be a nice gift for my wife and it is noticed whenever we have guests over, which is not often with the Covid-19 social distancing recommendations.
5
April 22nd, 2020
Verified Buyer
Steve
Detroit Suburbs
Cutting Board
Folks, I am a budding amateur who has been around a woodshop my entire life, but never great at it. I'm still honing my skills but I have to say this product made it easy. The wood came ready clean on two sides to rip into strips. The hardest part was working with my portable table saw where the throat opening is too big to cut many narrow strip per the photograph and very useful video. This is my issue in my shop. The work around was surface planning the narrow strips and less use of the wood. But not an issue with the kit. Not one single board had major voids. A few boards had issues right at the ends, but the off-cut and final trim took care of that.
5
April 15th, 2020
Verified Buyer
Jason
DC
Great Product and easy ordering process!
I enjoyed my experience and will definitly order again!
5
April 14th, 2020
Verified Buyer
R
Arizona
Very well received
I ordered this as a gift for an amateur woodworker. He's very pleased with his gift and commented on how nice everything in the kit is. Thank you Woodworkers Source!
5
February 5th, 2020
Verified Buyer
Rustic Creations
Central Florida
Semi-Professional Woodworker
Beautiful wood!
Wood I received was perfect! My boards came out amazing! Thank you!!
Familiarity: I've used it in a LOT of projects
5
January 21st, 2020
Peter
Central Florida
WOW!
I was very skeptical about ordering online and not picking my own boards. I just received my order...WOW! Exceeded my expectations and I can't wait to get to work on my next project! Thank you!
5
January 13th, 2020
Verified Buyer
Nonrev
MI
Very Happy
Just what I expected. Product is great. Decent price. Shipping turnaround very good. Will placing another order shortly.
5
January 5th, 2020
Verified Buyer
n/a
n/a
Simple and beautiful
My cutting board turned out great. The wood selection delivered to my door was fantastic.
5
December 30th, 2019
Verified Buyer
Chris
MI
Excellent Kit!
I had never made a cutting board before so this was an excellent introduction! Great videos and instructions and quality products (that were also fairly straight for the most part)!
4
December 20th, 2019
Verified Buyer
n/a
n/a
Cutting Board Kit
Have not started project yet but wood seems of the highest quality. Expect good results when project is started.
5
November 1st, 2019
TwinDaddyD
KS
Great product; excellent support!
I received my cutting board kit yesterday. Unfortunately, FedEx decided to lean the box against my wall, causing the boards to break through the box and get mashed on the ground. Every board has a smashed corner now. Customer support offered to replace the order, but since the rest of the boards look great, I'm not going to worry about it at this point. Looking forward to making my first cutting board!
5
October 18th, 2019
Verified Buyer
Richard
NC
Cutting. Board
Very good
5
October 7th, 2019
Czernobog
South Carolina
Super pleased
I very quickly received my order, which contained beautiful wood, all of which could be used (no waste). I had enough to make what ended up being an 11x17x1 1/32 board, and then another smaller 6x16x5/8 board. Couldn't be happier.
3
September 22nd, 2019
Patrick
MD
Order recieved
Recieved my product 2 days ago.... very happy with the wood I recieved! However there was no glue or oil. Glue I had here....and had to run to lowes for cutting board oil @ ~10.00 . I have chosen to recommend because I am happy with the wood and delivery....but a little upset it wasnt complete for the price I paid
5
July 18th, 2019
Verified Buyer
John I
Baltimore MD
Great wood! Great service!
Very happy with the wood I received from you guys. I am looking forward to completing my project!
5
April 2nd, 2019
Verified Buyer
AJT1959
Texas
Semi-Professional Woodworker
Cutting board kit review
Top quality material with a timely delivery. Instructions were very straight forward. Wife was extremely pleased with the finished product! Now have ‘orders' for two more from my daughters!!
Familiarity: I've used it in several projects
4
January 31st, 2019
Verified Buyer
Dave
Phoenix AZ
Cutting Board Kit - Walnut, Mahogany & Maple
One of the pieces of Mahogany had small knot holes - I filled them with epoxy and will make that side the back side of the cutting board. The Walnut and Maple pieces were straight and without flaw.
3
July 23rd, 2018
Verified Buyer
Nelson
Evansville IN
cutting board
May be ok for a beginner or someone with no stock; I feel it was overpriced and I really didn't need type II glue.
4
May 31st, 2018
Verified Buyer
Bojangles
n/a
Semi-Professional Woodworker
CUTING BOARD
The only issue was one of the pieces of walnut was slightly warped. I was able to make my thin cuts from the warped area and make it all work. Very nice board
Familiarity: I've used it once or twice
1
May 8th, 2018
Verified Buyer
Ammateur WW
California
Enthusiast Woodworker
Customer disappointed
I ordered the cutting board kit -Walnut, Mahogany & Maple on April 7 and it arrived about a week later incomplete (glue and oil were missing!) and with a piece of wood damaged with a large dent The USPS box did not have any damage and was sealed. I called Woodworkers Source and their personnel requested to send pictures of the damaged board, which I did same day. They assured that the missing components of the kit and the damaged board will be sent in due course. However, after a month of placing the original order, I have not received anything. Very disappointed with their customer service and the lack of seriousness with their commitment.
Familiarity: I haven't used it yet
5
March 12th, 2018
Verified Buyer
Jay
Louisiana
Hobbyist Woodworker
Cutting board kit
Easy project, made a great looking board
Familiarity: I've used it once or twice
5
March 7th, 2018
Verified Buyer
tom
Conroe Tx
Enthusiast Woodworker
Beautiful wood
as always the wood was perfect...can't wait to make my board with it...just working on a pattern...wood from yall is always great...
Familiarity: I've used it once or twice
5
March 3rd, 2018
Verified Buyer
Made by Murphy
Northeast Ohio
Cutting Board Kit
Quality and Quantity was fantastic. The milling that was done prior to me receiving the product was spot on and true! If you have any desire to attempt a cutting board, this is the kit to get you started. I still have materials left over and made the board 1.5" thick and 18" X 12"! Very, very please! Will be purchasing again
5
February 17th, 2018
Verified Buyer
BW
Mesa AZ
Nice kit
Very nice selection of wood. I chose to make 2 smaller cutting boards and had a piece of mahogany left over.
5
January 31st, 2018
Verified Buyer
Chuck
TX
Hobbyist Woodworker
Beautiful wood
Received a box of wood and it was beautiful and nicely cut. The kit also included glue and butcher block oil, which I didn't expect. Thank you very much
Familiarity: I've used it in several projects
5
January 24th, 2018
Verified Buyer
sparkymegatto
Brooklyn NYC 11215
Great selection of wood
package nice and the wood is excellent