Back to shopping

Reviews for Woodworkers 30 Piece Sample Kit

Currently viewing all reviews.
32 Reviews
96.2%
Overall
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
5
October 17th, 2021
Verified Buyer
Emily
Gettysburg, PA
Hobbyist Woodworker
Thank you!
Used it as a gift! Got it for my wood-working fiancé and he was astounded at the thoughtfulness of the gift. We made a wooden box to store the samples in so he can leaf through them whenever he’d like.
Familiarity: I haven't used it yet
5
July 21st, 2021
Verified Buyer
Michael
Oakland CA
Enthusiast Woodworker
Great option
I got this as a way to feel the texture and weight of different woods, as well as trying out some finishes. It's an awesome kit and great value.
5
May 15th, 2021
Verified Buyer
Russ
Southern Oklahoma
Enthusiast Woodworker
Excellent product!
The sample kit is package very well. Great samples, all pieces were in great shape!
5
February 13th, 2021
Verified Buyer
Julian
Massachusetts
Enthusiast Woodworker
Great variety; educational
This was a great value for the variety and the size of the sample pieces. I was able to use this to study and better identify woods I was familiar with, and also learn more about the ones I wasn't. Some of the exotic pieces are species that, technically, are not sustainable and may become endangered in the near future. Normally I would have more mixed feelings about their inclusion but in this kit it was really helpful to be able to identify them and get a sense of which ones indeed beautiful and unusual versus which ones were more about trendiness and could easily be imitated by a more sustainable choice. I set them all up like a card catalog and made myself the start of a "wood dictionary."
5
February 10th, 2021
Verified Buyer
Jr
Queen Creek Az
Semi-Professional Woodworker
The best sample kit!!!!
Stoked I order this woodworkers sample kit! The best way to show my clients the wood samples for their projects! Thank you Woodworkers source for the excellent customer service and prompt shipping!
5
May 6th, 2020
Verified Buyer
Nol
New Hampshire
Professional Woodworker
Engineer
Great samples to show clients.
5
January 2nd, 2020
Verified Buyer
Odin
Arizona
Enthusiast Woodworker
Good introduction to woods
I found this collection to be a good introduction to a variety of woods. I have spent hours with by lens studying the structure of each, a reading characteristics.
5
August 2nd, 2019
Verified Buyer
Dave
Medford Or
Woodworkers 30 piece sample kit
Great service, prompted delivery
5
April 10th, 2019
Verified Buyer
Mell
Haymarket Virginia
New Woodworker
30 piece sample kit
This was my first order from Woodworkers Source and I was not sure what to expect. Excellent! I could not have been more pleased. This is a wonderful sampling of 15 domestic and 15 international wood species. I will be using them to aid in teaching Scouts, in my capacity as a woodworking merit badge counselor for BSA.
Familiarity: I've used it once or twice
4
January 23rd, 2019
Michael
BC Canada
Enthusiast Woodworker
Good Start
Very poor birdseye maple sample, not happy about that. Other than that my box was 50% typical and 50% harder to find samples. One sample slightly undersized @ 5-7/8 but the rest are slightly oversized at 6-1/8. No book or magazine in this box as I've read in previous reviews.
5
December 20th, 2018
Verified Buyer
Brad M
n/a
Professional Woodworker
High quality samples
Very nice selection of wood samples provided in a clean and well organized package.
4
November 14th, 2018
Verified Buyer
Dick
Liberty Lake WA
Wood sample kit
Very good response to my order. I would like to point out that curly, Birdseye and quilted maples are not considered different species of woods. These names are given to certain soft and hard maples because of the grain patterns. I wish you had included white oak and two other domestic woods in lieu of the maples.
4
November 14th, 2018
Verified Buyer
Dick
Liberty Lake WA
Woo samples
The product is as described. However that being said out of the 30 pieces 5 were maple (curly, hard, quilted, soft, and birdseye) samples. In reality there are only two species of maple in the package. Curly, birdseye and quilted are not a species of maple but names given to certain configuration s of the grain found in these two species. I would have preferred replacing at least two of these maples with a white oak and another domestic wood.
5
October 12th, 2018
Verified Buyer
Cam
Miles City MT
Hobbyist Woodworker
Awesome service.
Great products. Looking forward to buying lots more.
5
September 13th, 2018
Verified Buyer
McCray & Co.
Austin TX
Professional Woodworker
Perfect, thank you!
This is exactly what we needed for our Interior Design Materials Library. Thank you so much!
5
May 29th, 2018
Verified Buyer
sparkymegatto
Brooklyn Ny 11215
Hobbyist Woodworker
Sample Collection was great
I will make a display case for them
5
April 3rd, 2018
Verified Buyer
n/a
Iowa
30 piece sample kit
Wonderful customer service. Timely shipping and product was just as expected.
5
March 30th, 2018
Verified Buyer
Lee
Jefferson Maryland
Enthusiast Woodworker
Great educational and conversational product
Excellent product, even for people who never worked with wood before. Great for inspiring interest in the range of different types of wood available.
5
October 20th, 2017
Verified Buyer
Scott
Omaha
Very Impressive!
Loved the mix of species in domestics and exotics.
4
September 27th, 2017
Vcw
New jersey
Semi-Professional Woodworker
Very happy
Very happy with product. I received most of the domestic hardwoods and the big names in exotics. Great for me to pair up colors for glue ups and getting to know my hardwoods. Gave it 4 stars because 2 pieces were missing labels.
4
September 27th, 2017
Vcw
n/a
Hobbyist Woodworker
All the popular lumber
Very happy with product, I received most of the domestic hardwoods and the big name exotics. Great for pairing up colors for glue ups and general wood knowledge. Gave it 4 stars because 2 pieces didn't have labels
5
November 30th, 2016
Verified Buyer
Chris P
Waco Tx
New Woodworker
Sample kit
The wood looks great and worked out great for my class. All the pieces are beautiful and smooth to the touch.
4
May 5th, 2012
I. Z
n/a
Semi-Professional Woodworker
Kit
wood is great, a few pieces were shorter and yet a few thinner. i was hoping the indicated half inch was actual. i also expected more exotic samples, since around eleven were simply plain. nonetheless, would consider ordering again definitely.
5
April 12th, 2012
vw
Princewick WV USA
Woodworkers sample kit
Excellent. Used in my workshop to make custom guitar parts. Musicians can be a picky group, but haven't had nothing but rave reviews thusfar. Thanks.
5
November 9th, 2011
DRS
n/a
Semi-Professional Woodworker
Sample Box
The sample kit contained a nice mix of domestic and exotic woods.
5
October 11th, 2011
Bill P.
Medford OR USA
Hobbyist Woodworker
A Must-Have!
If you do any selling, you must have this kit. Now, when someone orders a chess set, I can sit down with them and let them pick out the woods they want for the pieces and board. These are high-quality samples, packaged great, and a wonderful price.
5
March 20th, 2011
Ric Nesslage
Denair Ca. USA
Semi-Professional Woodworker
Great Assortment
I make custom pistol grips for 1911's and this sample kit is just right to get to see some very unique Exotic woods. Alot of new woods I haven't had a chance to use yet.Looks like it wiil work GREAT!!!
Familiarity: I've used it once or twice
5
January 26th, 2011
Lyell B. Tripp
Ocean Isle Beach NC USA
Professional Woodworker
Hardwood sample kit and book
The hardwood samples are great. They will make a great tool for showing our customers the different species of wood available to them for their custom furniture. The book is very helpfull as well. I would recommend this product kit to any woodworker, regardless of skill level. It is a very usefull tool.
5
January 19th, 2011
Tom Wynn
Hope Hull Al US
Enthusiast Woodworker
Nice sample set!
I am getting more serious into woodworking and wanted this set to gain more knowledge about different species. This was the ticket. It makes a lot of difference when you can put your hands and nose to a piece of wood. The book that comes with it is also very good. You will not go wrong with this set.
5
December 14th, 2010
tsl
central point or
Enthusiast Woodworker
very helpful
Great help to see the wood options and it arived quickly
5
November 3rd, 2010
R. Lynn Forsberg
Ridgefield WA USA
Professional Woodworker
Show Room Samples
Quality of the samples that I received are perfect for showing our customrs the mix of available hardwood.
5
October 6th, 2010
Dave
El Granada CA
Semi-Professional Woodworker
Nice sample kit
The sample pieces are big enough to convey the properties of the individual kinds of wood. And the book is nice and glossy. Thanks.. BTW the African Blackwood plank I got from you guys was primo. It's great to come across hardwood that is so fine-grained that it doesn't need any finish except sanding...