Back to shopping

Reviews for Purple Heart Hardwood Sample (1/2"x3"x6")

Currently viewing all reviews.
13 Reviews
78.4%
Overall
5
September 8th, 2020
Verified Buyer
Mike
n/a
Enthusiast Woodworker
Great wood, great service
Wood arrived in perfect condition, no dings or damage. Beautiful grain and loving it
Familiarity: I've used it in several projects
5
February 6th, 2018
Verified Buyer
Tommy
Liberty SC
Perfect for my little project
I needed a tiny piece of very hard wood to complete a project. This sample piece of Purple Heart hardwood was perfect. I used a small hack saw to make 3 cuts. Sanding was easier than I thought it would be and satin wipe-on poly gave me just the finish I was looking for. Super satisfied!
1
January 27th, 2018
Verified Buyer
n/a
n/a
New Woodworker
Not sastified
I ordered 3x9 and got something way smaller
Familiarity: I haven't used it yet
Woodworkers Source Responds
Sorry about that. Customer service will contact you today about a replacement.
5
November 7th, 2017
Verified Buyer
Robert
Illinois
Purple Heart Sample
Packaged well, fast shipping. Overall good experience.
5
October 30th, 2017
Verified Buyer
Mr. Fox
Indiana
Purpleheart is beautiful
I order a sample piece for a knife I'm putting scales on. As the website states not all planks of purple-heart are the same. The 1st plank I received was blah even after setting in the sun for half the day. I went ahead and ordered another piece and boy am I happy I did! The 2nd plank has such a beautiful purple color. Happy customer here.
5
April 24th, 2015
EP Savoie
baton rouge la usa
Amazing if handled properly
Purpleheart is a rarity, absolutely beautiful wood which no other species can come close to. Ive seen many folk complain that purpleheart looks brown, but if done right it will display an almost alien looking purple. In my usage I've found that applying heat to the wood draws out the best coloration. I use a propane torch, because I work with small pieces but an oven would probably work better. I use the torch to just feather the surface a little bit at a time, as too much heat in one spot will darken/burn the wood. But if you do it slowly you'll see the color develop rather easily. I've heard many theories ask to what heating causes in the wood but I don't know, just know that it works. I prefer using cyanoacrylate as the finish on mine.
1
January 14th, 2015
Michael S.
Mundelein IL United States
Hobbyist Woodworker
No purple
I was excited to finally see some purple heart in person and to use it to make a bow handle, however when it arrived the block of wood was completely brown. Not even a tinge of color after I sanded it and finished it with tung oil. It was a disappointment.
Familiarity: I've used it once or twice
Woodworkers Source Responds
Ah! Sorry about that, Michael. The purple color in purple heart comes from oxidization. Fresh cut and worked purple heart will be brown. Give it some sunshine, in a day you'll notice a difference as the purple color comes back.
3
January 18th, 2013
RLB
Batesville IN United States
Stinks
While the color and substance of this wood is very nice, it has an unpleasant odor and seems to smell more the more you work with it. If your project is going to suffer from it smelling bad, this wood may not be a very good choice.
5
September 18th, 2012
RD
Watertown Massachusetts United States
Hobbyist Woodworker
Exactly as promised
Beautiful sample of wood. Great purple character. Fast shipping. Love these guys.
Familiarity: I've used it in several projects
5
December 12th, 2011
CDF
league city tx USA
Purple Hart
I received a perfect piece of wood. Can't wait to build something with it.
5
December 14th, 2010
JWM
n/a
Sample Block
Excellent quality. I would recommend these samples for planning mixed wood projects.
1
December 2nd, 2010
Mark Patrick
Sheridan Wyo. US
Hobbyist Woodworker
Purple Heart
The pic on your web page made it look a lot more purple. The piece I received was not purple at all. I use the wood for making knife handles, they work perfectly. My daughter wants a purple handle on hers, not sure what or where I will find any purple LOL. I really love the Leapord wood and will be ording several more in about 2 weeks. All the other wood I have ordered from you is just wonderful, perfect. Thank you very much.
Familiarity: I haven't used it yet
Woodworkers Source Responds
Sorry about that. Customer service will contact you today about a replacement.
5
November 24th, 2010
Ron Mabe
Ocala FL USA
Purple Heart Review
I ordered the samples to evaluate for making knife handles.