Back to shopping

Reviews for Premium Black Walnut 4/4 Lumber, Clear One Side

Currently only viewing 5 star reviews. View All Ratings
5
May 26th, 2021
Verified Buyer
Rob
Cincinnati OH
Premium Black Walkut
I haven't started my project yet but I am very happy with the pieces of walnut I received.
5
March 12th, 2021
Verified Buyer
sloth
OR
Hobbyist Woodworker
Used to replace a crappy and degraded under-counter plywood cutting board
The selection was as good or better as I would have gotten driving to a home center and spending an hour leafing through boards.
Familiarity: I've used it in several projects
5
February 27th, 2021
Verified Buyer
Josh
Del Rio TX
Great product
I was very satisfied with my order. I have yet to be disappointed by Woodworkers Source.
5
February 13th, 2021
Verified Buyer
David
n/a
Order #252297 placed on 01/04/2021 22:38:44 EST
Very Satisfied. Great customer service. Great product. Type of cut was not specified. Quartersawn was provided. As that is not typical, it would have been good to get the standard plain sawn; or have been asked specifically if quartersawn was acceptable.
5
September 1st, 2020
Verified Buyer
Oldman53
Indiana
New Woodworker
Walnut
Great piece of lumber
Familiarity: I've used it once or twice
5
August 20th, 2020
Verified Buyer
Noralates
CA
Outstanding products and service
I bought premium walnut 4/4 lumbar, walnut plywood and walnut wood edge tape and they were all of the highest quality and delivered very quickly. Great service, great products.
5
July 22nd, 2020
Verified Buyer
Grackle
Sheffield,Al.35660
Hobbyist Woodworker
premium walnut lumber
Just what I needed and wanted.Thank you it is beautiful . I find myself petting it from time to time.
Familiarity: I've used it once or twice
5
June 20th, 2020
Verified Buyer
Jack
Plymouth
Easy
Have't actually started the project yet but it all looks great!!!!
5
May 11th, 2020
Verified Buyer
Anthony
Palm Desert CA
Black Walnut Door
The delivery arrived exactly when they said it would. The quality was excellent making it easy for my project. The customer liked the door so much I am doing two more doors in the same style.
5
May 5th, 2020
Verified Buyer
Tom M
Arenas Valley New Mexico
4/4 Black Walnut for Chess Board
The walnut shipped to me was perfect. No flaws, flat, straight, and no twists. The grain is very nice as well. It's a joy to work with.
5
April 27th, 2020
Verified Buyer
n/a
n/a
review
couldn't be happier
5
April 24th, 2020
Verified Buyer
n/a
n/a
Black walnut - premium
Very happy with the boards selected
5
April 20th, 2020
Verified Buyer
rms
kansas
rms
very impressed with the quality and speed
5
March 1st, 2020
Verified Buyer
Ralph
NV
Very good selection of wood and size
I needed to create trim for a walnut counter top I was putting together and the product matched perfectly with little sap wood. I will upload pics when kitchen complete.
5
February 13th, 2020
Verified Buyer
John
CT
Product Review Premium Black Walnut 4/4 Lumber
I ordered 4/4 black walnut and 4/4 maple. The wood had top quality color and free of defects. I was very satisfied.
5
February 4th, 2020
Verified Buyer
Patrick
n/a
As expected
Used this for a decorative table runner and cutting boards. Nice variation in colors between greys and browns.
5
January 9th, 2020
Verified Buyer
Motoyogi
TN
Great Lumber and Service
The wood I received was beautiful and sized as I asked. I'm very pleased with my order and will order again.
5
January 1st, 2020
Verified Buyer
Jourdaine
Texas
Good graim
Just needed tiny piece to match wood in gun stock to patch a hole. Found it in a corner of the piece you sent. Cut a piece about 1/8 of an inch by 2 x 3. Pegged and glued it. Sanded it down. Stained it. Applied finish. Done. Now I need to find something to do with the other 98% of the board.
5
December 23rd, 2019
Verified Buyer
Mark
Nebraska
walnut
Very pleased with the walnut purchase. Couldn't have picked out a better board!
5
December 13th, 2019
Verified Buyer
Higgity
Liverpool NY
Hobbyist Woodworker
Beautiful Black Walnut
Gorgeous black walnut 95% heartwood received. Will make a beautiful bench seat for my hall tree I'm building. Thanks Woodworkers source for the beautiful pieces!
Familiarity: I've used it once or twice
5
October 21st, 2019
Verified Buyer
CraigM123
Enid OK
Great Product
The wood came in the time given, with no major defects.
5
October 20th, 2019
Verified Buyer
D Dubya
Texas
New Woodworker
Great product
First time customer. Good product. Had issue (self induced, forgot something) and emailed customer service and had prompt response. Very helpful. Great products. Page is bookmarked in browser now for future use.
Familiarity: I haven't used it yet
5
July 30th, 2019
Verified Buyer
n/a
n/a
Hobbyist Woodworker
Great
Great quality. Fast shipping.
Familiarity: I've used it once or twice
5
July 6th, 2019
Verified Buyer
Tanner
Utah
BEAUTIFUL COLOR
I ordered this product with no specific project planned just really wanted some walnut, unsure how it would be since buying lumber online can be, sometimes, well... disappointing.. But Woodworkers Source did not disappoint! The wood is beautiful and clear, there is a small void in the back of the wood where a knot was, but that's nothing that a little epoxy won't fix! Beautiful coloring, and very little variation with sapwood. My only suggestion would be, if you do not have a jointer or a good hand plane, pay the extra couple cents to have them straight line rip.
5
March 18th, 2019
Verified Buyer
JCB
Milford PA
Walnut blank
Nice quality slab of walnut with no sap wood. Cleanly planed with square edges. We are using this to recreate a detachable butt stock for an antique taxidermists specimen collecting firearm. VERY happy with the prompt attention to the order and the quality of the wood.
5
March 4th, 2019
Verified Buyer
Herb
East Tennessee
Fretboard material
Hi Cameron, Got my order of Walnut last week and just wanted to tell you guys that the lumber was GREAT! Packaging was perfect and walnut arrived without a scratch. Virtually no sapwood at all. Really good stuff exactly to spec. Thanks for everyone's attention in perfecting my first experience with Woodworkers source! Many thanks, Herbert
5
February 6th, 2019
Verified Buyer
Mike
CO
Walnut 4/4 lumber
Haven't used it yey, but it sure looks great
5
December 18th, 2018
Verified Buyer
Jim
Albuquerque New Mexico
Retired
This walnut is much nicer than the last order.... very few through knots and big sections of clear wood with pretty grain.
5
September 27th, 2018
Verified Buyer
n/a
n/a
Enthusiast Woodworker
Great wood
Lumber was. great fast shipping. And they packaged it very nicely.
5
August 8th, 2018
Verified Buyer
n/a
n/a
Enthusiast Woodworker
walnut
between the two boards I found even dark grain and areas of black and tan, both of which I needed
5
February 14th, 2018
Verified Buyer
C. J. Daniel
Fort Worth TX
Walnut Quality
The wood is great quality with a lot of heart wood in the pieces. I am happy with it.
5
January 26th, 2018
Bob
New York
Beautiful
Quality wood, very little sap. Can't wait to start my project.
5
October 28th, 2017
Verified Buyer
TCT_Knives
Fay NC
Very pleased
When they say you will get more than what you ordered they are not kidding! At first I was worried about running short after I squared the ends but when I took a closer look at what they sent me I was shocked. The sq. footage is increased significantly so there is no doubt you are getting what you paid for.
5
August 9th, 2017
Verified Buyer
n/a
n/a
New Woodworker
Quality product
Awesome grain selection! thank you!
Familiarity: I haven't used it yet
5
March 21st, 2017
Verified Buyer
Chad
Tacoma WA
Walnut Order
I ordered 4/4 walnut for a 36"x60" desktop that I am making.
5
March 14th, 2017
Verified Buyer
Wyowoodsmith
Hulett Wyoming
Enthusiast Woodworker
Walnut Black 4/4 Lumber
Every piece was nice, very straight, very flat, smooth and little sapwood- couldn't ask for better
Familiarity: I've used it in several projects
5
March 13th, 2017
Verified Buyer
Al
Overgaard AZ
Semi-Professional Woodworker
Great Black Walnut
As always, this order of excellent raw hardwood met all my expectations. I was informed that the lumber I had ordered was not going to be "top quality" and was given an option to get an better alternative at the same price. That shows me that Woodworkers source is far more interested in customer satisfaction than overall profit. I've ordered four pro-packs of different hardwoods and am always impressed with the quality and value of the hardwoods.
Familiarity: I've used it in several projects
5
February 8th, 2017
Verified Buyer
Rich
Huntsville AL
New Woodworker
Quality lumber
This black walnut meets all my criteria. It is free of defects, has beautiful figure and is generously sized.
Familiarity: I've used it in several projects
5
February 7th, 2017
Verified Buyer
kellercl
North Carolina
New Woodworker
Beautiful Wood
This was my first time working with walnut and I was very impressed. The wood is flat out gorgeous. I find the wood easy to joint, plane and cut. For finishing I simply used Tung Oil, nothing more. It turned out perfect.
Familiarity: I haven't used it yet
5
February 7th, 2017
Verified Buyer
n/a
n/a
Walnut Black 4/4 Lumber
Product arrived on time and as requested. I have used Woodworkers Source several times and they never fail to provide exactly what I ordered. Good job!
5
November 17th, 2016
Wane
Brighton Colorado
Beautiful Black Walnut Lumber
I just received my Black Walnut 4/4 lumber, and I could not believe how beautiful it was. I made some requests, and you guys really came through with the sizes I needed. The grain is fantastic and the wood is top notch. I would highly recommend shopping at Woodworkers Source.
5
October 3rd, 2016
Verified Buyer
n/a
n/a
Great
Product looked very good
5
August 13th, 2016
Verified Buyer
Ad
Washington
Best Product and Service
This beautify piece of wood became a shelf under our flatscreen TV with a little sanding and beeswax wood finish. Its perfect!
5
February 12th, 2015
KFK
Wisconsin,
Great
Very little sapwood. Nice cut.
5
January 23rd, 2015
Stephen Murphy
Edina MN US
Enthusiast Woodworker
Simply excellent
This is the note I sent to WWS after I got my order today: Guys, Got my order of Walnut boards today (Order #104840). They look GREAT. Your selections were superb and the turnaround on the order was top-notch. I also really got a kick out of the note you sent when you shipped it. This was my first time ordering lumber (and veneers) from you and I want to let you know that you've already gained a loyal customer. I will definitely be coming back for my future projects. All the best! -Stephen Murphy
Familiarity: I haven't used it yet
5
May 21st, 2014
Daniel Smith
Hulett WYOMING United States
4/4 Black Walnut
I always keep a good supply of high quality Black Walnut in my shop, as it can be used by itself or accents many other species- I wanted 8+" wide and 8' long- the 3 pcs I received are top grade, very clear and a beautiful grain pattern - I will be ordering more of this very high quality lumber- all lumber from Woodworkers Source has been the best I can find, I used to drive 300 miles to the nearest city 2x's a year, since I have found the folks here I can spend my time on doing what I love- Custom Woodwork- Thanks from N.E.Wyoming
5
January 30th, 2014
T B
VT US
Semi-Professional Woodworker
Very nice lumber.
Had a couple cracks and knots but mostly clear. I'm happy with my order.
Familiarity: I haven't used it yet
5
June 7th, 2013
DMB
Pittsburgh PA
Great
Excellent selections. These boards look great and look great together. There is some figuring with some lighter browns through it that make it 'pop'....and some great tight grain patterns that really flow through the length of the boards. Could not be happier.
5
May 2nd, 2013
JH
Rangeley Me US
Walnut review
My stock had great grain patterns and a nice shift in and out of heart wood. I really enjoyed the selection.
5
April 4th, 2013
Jaosn
Bartlesville Oklahoma United States
Good first experience
I order 25 board feet of this during a recent special promotion (free shipping). I'd never ordered from Woodworkers Source or lumber online for that matter. I'm really pleased with the boards I got. Three nearing 8 feet and 3 near 6 feet, random but nice widths. Lovely color on all of them--no splits, knots, or other nastiness. Good communication, and they arrived within a week - and that was after I got an email saying there would be a delay! I'll be back again.
5
March 28th, 2013
Tom B
n/a
4/4 Black Walnut stock
The product provided by Woodworkers Source exceeded my expectations.
5
March 28th, 2013
Magnolia Hills Woodworking
Yelm WA
Expectation management
I'll preface this review with you knowing that I am nearly impossible to please. Having said that, I ordered 20 board feet with certain specifications on width because I wanted to avoid glue ups. I set my hopes really low, but the day after I ordered it I got this hilarious email naming me customer of the year! Mr. Craig Haggarton really set the bar high, so high I thought that even if the wood sucks this email would make the story worth it. Turns out the wood was better than I ever could have expected, met all my requirements on width. The boards were straight, no sap wood, just perfect. I couldn't believe it. I just ordered my second order through the woodworkers source and I think it will be hard for them to match the first. Also, I ordered it normal ground delivery and it got to my house three days after I ordered it! So impressed, great job to all the 107 hardworking and exceptionally good looking workers at woodworkers source!
5
March 27th, 2013
BB
Redding Ca USA
Beautiful Walnut
Very happy with this order, I ordered certain sizes and Woodworkerssource was very generous and gave me a little more length and width which allows me to saw the walnut to the exact sizes I need.Looking forward to planning another project and I know where I will order from.
5
March 27th, 2013
GLM
Oakhurst CA
Gary
Whta I expected. Good grain, defects minimum.
5
March 20th, 2013
Darrell V.
Roswell NM
Lets Call it 6 Stars
These boards exceeded my expectations. I have ordered before and have always been pleased, but this particular order stands out as exceptional. The boards are perfect.
5
December 28th, 2012
Matthew Wenzel
Elmont NY USA
Enthusiast Woodworker
Walnut Black 4/4 Lumber
Great piece of Walnut as I usually receive.
Familiarity: I've used it in a LOT of projects
5
August 12th, 2012
C Daggs
Mesa AZ USA
Bowl Turner
Excellent uality, prompt delivery, well packed, absolutely no damage, generous sizing to my minimum specs
5
June 29th, 2012
GKW
King George VA USA
Hobbyist Woodworker
Beautiful Walnut
Absolutely Beautiful Grain Figure in all of my 10 bd ft order (I actually received a bit more). I specified minimum of 5" width-most were 6"+, the shades all match nearly perfect & very minimal sapwood. My 1st order has been a raging success & I most certainly will be a returning customer.
Familiarity: I've used it in several projects
5
May 25th, 2012
Dave
n/a
Enthusiast Woodworker
Walnut lumber
Great product, great company. Thanks for the quick service.
Familiarity: I've used it in a LOT of projects
5
May 4th, 2012
Dan
Edgerton Wi USA
excellent walnut
Nice piece of wood. Also, order was handled quickly and courteously. The same goes for the Basswood
5
March 31st, 2012
ml
Mountain Ranch CA US
perfect
The wood is a perfect match to the project I'm working on. I'm creating a back splash for a hard wood counter top.
5
March 27th, 2012
Scott M.
Pingree Idaho USA
New Woodworker
Why are there 108 sets of finger prints on my walnut?
Great product. I received more in my order than I expected. No skimping here!
Familiarity: I've used it once or twice
5
October 20th, 2011
Jorge
La Mesa CA USA
Hobbyist Woodworker
Walnut 4/4
Arrived in perfect condition and just as described and expected.
Familiarity: I've used it once or twice
5
July 7th, 2011
BDB
sammamish wa usa
Walnut Black 4/4 Lumber
Walnut is one of my favorite woods to work with. Machines nice with sharp tools and can be shaped easily with hand tools. Mine came with excelent sraight edge rips.
5
November 24th, 2010
Mike F.
Naperville IL USA
New Woodworker
Really nice size plank
As a first time order I was not sure what to expect in terms of dimensions or quantity of pieces for such a small bd ft order. But I got a single, beautiful board, wide and long. It was clearly selected by someone who understood woodworking, not just how to measure products. I really appreciate the care that person took in giving me the best they could.
Familiarity: I've used it once or twice
5
October 30th, 2010
Theodore Bower
Hattiesburg MS US
Hobbyist Woodworker
good lumber
For $9.00 a board foot this lumber needed to be perfect. It wasn't quite perfect- there are some flaws, planer marks and a bit of sapwood. It has some excellent grain patterns though so it will still make a great looking sofa table because I can work around or orient the flaws so they don't affect the project. I like the sense of humor and enthusiasm in your emails. Keep that up! And I appreciate your rapid processing of the order. The UPS guy huffed and puffed getting the bundle from the truck to my garage. He had quite a few heavy packages that day.
Familiarity: I've used it in several projects
5
August 12th, 2010
Randy Dunn
Gulf Breeze Fl USA
Great Looking Walnut
I ordered a small amount of walnut for a project and will be able to use 99% of the wood. I have purchased from other suppliers and don't get this kind of yield. Thanks guys.