Back to shopping

Reviews for Red Oak 1/2" Thin Lumber

Currently viewing all reviews.
17 Reviews
91.8%
Overall
4
June 30th, 2021
Verified Buyer
bill
California
New Woodworker
Arrived as promised. Good quality
First time I have ordered wood from Woodworker's Source. Wood sent to me was larger and better than expected.
Familiarity: I haven't used it yet
4
April 2nd, 2021
Verified Buyer
bigJESS
San Jose Ca.
RED OAK
Ordered cause I could not find 1/2" thick boards at local big box stores or lumberyards. Not having planer and wanting to use 1/2" board for my project, I found WOODWORKERS SOURCE on the internet. The red oak worked perfect for my project. The reason for the 4 stars and not 5, is cause of the shipping rate. If you need 1/2" boards and don't have planer and can"t find it locally I would recommend WOODWORKERS SOURCE.
5
January 6th, 2021
Verified Buyer
Ronnie1a
San Ramon CA
Enthusiast Woodworker
1/2 inch oak
Beautiful piece of wood. It looked so nice I didn't want to cut it.
Familiarity: I've used it in a LOT of projects
5
July 28th, 2020
Verified Buyer
Jeff
California
Great customer service and great product
The quality of oak was very good and perfectly met my needs
5
May 7th, 2020
Verified Buyer
Art
UT
Hobbyist Woodworker
Thin Lumber is an excellent product
Using this Red Oak to build Jewelry boxes and other wood gifts. Product is excellent - Now on my second bundle of 10 board feet of 1/2 inch stock and 3 pieces of 1/4 inch Red Oak. For wood boxes, cases, and any other project not needing a Hard wood like Walnut. This red oak is fantastic
Familiarity: I haven't used it yet
4
February 12th, 2020
Verified Buyer
pablo de san diego
CA
Good Lumber - Personal Skills Lagging
The order was good. Even though I only ordered 12 bd' the lumber was in good shape. Beautiful red oak. This ordere amplified how important it is to have knowledge of wood behavior and characteristics as well as how to machine the wood properly. Wood moves when cut, necessitating planing... lots of planing.
5
January 3rd, 2020
Verified Buyer
cottonfarmer2
Stamford Texas
1/2 in red oak
The order was perfect and lumber was excellent.
5
November 11th, 2019
Verified Buyer
CTP
tn
Red Oak 1/2 Lumber
I needed a couple of small pieces to finish out something I had ordered online that was missing its' drawer fronts. This was perfect. Looks way better than the original wood!
5
July 8th, 2019
Verified Buyer
al
California
Enthusiast Woodworker
red oak 1/2 thin lumber
very good product for box making
Familiarity: I've used it once or twice
5
August 10th, 2018
Verified Buyer
HP
Jacksonville FL
Enthusiast Woodworker
Red Oak 1/2" thick lumber
Beautiful piece of wood and an excellent fortuitous match to an object I am modifying
Familiarity: I've used it in several projects
5
August 6th, 2018
Verified Buyer
Fred
San Jose California
1/2 “ red oak lumber
The piece of wood was perfect. It was just what I asked for. The piece was straight and flat without any knots. I will order from them again.
3
May 26th, 2017
Verified Buyer
Spyman
Lexington KY
Good but could have been better
Received the wood pretty fast but issues with tracking it via the web site wasn't updated. Received more wood than I ordered but was not planned on one edge as requested but they added more wood to offset cost okay unless you don't have a planner. Quality of the wood. fair of the wood was cupped would have thought with someone hand picking it out would have been better.
3
July 18th, 2013
Stephen Wegner
Yuma AZ US
Hobbyist Woodworker
2-Jan
I ordered this woo because the add stated they had a 4" to 10" variety of boards. Since I could use several different sizes I didn't request any certain size. I expected to receive a variety of sizes but instead I received 17 boards all under 5" Make sure you state exactly the size you want or you will get what they want to get rid of first. I wrote and complained but I never even got a reply. So much for 100% guarantee.
Familiarity: I've used it once or twice
5
May 17th, 2013
Art Mittendorf
Williams az usa
Enthusiast Woodworker
Box
excellent
Familiarity: I haven't used it yet
5
April 30th, 2013
chuck
greenville ut us
Hobbyist Woodworker
oakred
beautiful wood
Familiarity: I've used it in several projects
5
September 18th, 2012
JM
Murrieta CA USA
Bedroom man cave remodel
The order was handled with suberb professionalism, care and speed...thank you. I was unable to obtain this lumber locally anywhere without excessive milling costs. As such, I found you folks online and, voila, my problems were solved. Although it was a small order, it received comparable handling and expertise as any big ticket purchase. I needed to match existing stain-grade red oak molding (crown, chair rail, baseboards, casing and sills). Thanks again for the straight edge cuts on both sides, I had very little sanding to do prior to finishing processes. You folks ROCK!!! I also appreciate your humor and perspective on customer service, well-done, don't ever change!!!
5
September 19th, 2011
RLP
Los Alamos NM USA
living room stairs
Excellent wood selection and finish.