Back to shopping

Reviews for Bloodwood 4/4 Lumber

Currently viewing all reviews.
9 Reviews
80%
Overall
4
October 4th, 2021
Verified Buyer
Nick
SF Bay Area
Beautiful, clear board
I've not yet used this board. It will be primarily for a fretboard. The only but of criticism that I have at this time is that it would be good if more paraffin/end grain sealer were applied by WWS. I like in a climate with much higher RH than the WWS warehouse so, I did see some checking as the wood acclimated. Honestly, it was a trio of issues that led to this, with the largest responsibility falling on my shoulders for not thinking to beef up the end-grain seal, as well as a major heatwave hitting just as the wood was delivered, causing far more stress than it would have seen otherwise. Will almost definitely buy again, though, I am searching for more domestics that can take this role.
4
August 30th, 2020
Verified Buyer
n/a
n/a
New Woodworker
Bloodwood
Came as expected. Color is a bit lighter than expected
Familiarity: I've used it once or twice
5
March 18th, 2017
Verified Buyer
Wyowoodsmith
Hulett Wyoming
Bloodwood 4/4 Lumber- Deep Dark BloodRed
When I figured my bf. for the soaking tub surround I'm fabricating for myself (My Dr. says my RA will be less painful w/ a soaking tub) I knew how rich the last Bloodwood I had ordered from WWS, I ordered 2 pcs. 8" x 96" , and I received 2 at 9-9.5 x 98" , Both were as if they had been "Book matched" , (I know that they are not, by the small grain mismatching) but both have the same "DEEP RICH BLOOD RED" color- When WWS advertises 100% satisfaction- that is exactly what I (and others I know who deal with WWS) get , in all the Bloodwood I've worked with over the past 35+ years, these folks can't be beat- I will be a very Happy "Ole Woodsmith" when I finish my tub- Thanks Again for the best customer satisfaction I have delt with
2
November 17th, 2016
Verified Buyer
akcmartin
Florida
Hobbyist Woodworker
Okay Wood, Service... not so much.
First of all... and maybe it's my personal lack of experience; if so I apologize in advance if I am being unfair here... but when I ordered 4/4 stock, I expected it to measure a full inch - NOT 13/16", which this did. Had I known it was going to measure 13/16", I would have purchased 1/2" stock instead, as it was my intention to rip the lumber into 11 mm blanks. The missing 3/16" means that I will get half the mileage out of this purchase than intended. So I could be happier about that; but as I say, it could well be my fault for not knowing better. Apart from that, this is a fine looking piece of wood, albeit less attractive in color than most other bloodwood I've purchased from other sources. That will, of course, vary from piece to piece, and should be considered an acceptable risk when buying sight unseen. That being said... Would I have purchased this piece of wood had I seen it at my local lumberyard? Probably not. Especially when taking into account the cracks on one end rendering approx. 3" waste. On a board measuring 18" long, that might be considered an acceptable amount of waste, and it could just be that I've been VERY lucky with other wood purchases from other venders; but this is for me the worst I've ever experienced.
Familiarity: I've used it in several projects
5
February 13th, 2016
Wyowoodsmith
Hulett Wy.
Enthusiast Woodworker
Deep Dark Blood Red
Every time I order Bloodwood from WWS, each piece has been top quality, wonderful for edging and making my own inlays- it has a very good contrast with almost all species of wood and win finished very slick, it makes my projects really "pop" with color- Thanks Everyone who selects my wood
Familiarity: I've used it in several projects
5
September 29th, 2011
Thomas R Mulvany
Rapid City MI United States
Excellent
The wood was just as pictured. Worked well for my project.
4
June 20th, 2011
BE
NJ USA
Great selection!
My order arrived in fantastic condition. Overall, the boards were amazing. The color was better than the sample I requested, and the grain patterns were rich with interest. I requested minimal sapwood, and they delivered. Less than 1 square inch of yellow on all 44 square feet. The only reason this isn't rated as a perfect 5 stars is because a sizable 1" knot was loose and found within one board near the one side edge. I can work around it, and for the only imperfection in a wood order, sight unseen, I'm still very happy with it. (I might even just epoxy it, and use it as a point of interest). I'll be sure to use these guys for my next big project.
5
April 5th, 2011
Mike in TX
n/a
Nice color
Very rich color, it should stand out nicely.
2
July 18th, 2010
Nick G
NJ
Enthusiast Woodworker
Not the best quality
I ordered two pieces and unfortunately oe was warped a little and the second piece was warped terrible. It had a one inch deflection over 3 foot length. I'll be able to cut it up for use as very small pieces but this isn't what I wanted it for originally.
Familiarity: I haven't used it yet